Carpooling - Central, Southern and Eastern Oregon

Offering a ride? Reply here and I’ll populate this with a link to your post. Need a ride? Reply as well. :slight_smile:

Since this is my first time going to any sort of “convention”, I’d like some advice on how to get here. As far as I can tell, I’ll be living in Medford over the summer. Since I’m still working towards a driver’s license and I don’t have a car of my own, my current plans are to take a bus or plane up to the area and carpool from there. This is still probably a very sketchy plan at the moment, and there’s a lot of specifics I need to look up. If there’s anyone coming from the rogue valley area, please let me know.

Hello and welcome! There’s a furry group right around that part of oregon at http://groups.google.com/group/southern-oregon-furs and we get a number of folks from that area that you should be able to network with to organize a carpool. :slight_smile:

Be sure to check out our list of stuff to bring camping! http://forum.campfiretails.org/2012-carpooling-gear-exchange/cft’s-big-old-list-of-camping-supplies-to-bring!/

I’ve registered and asked about carpooling at the group you mentioned, but it doesn’t seem to be particularly active, nor in my general area. I have since decided to take the Amtrack route from Klamath Falls to Chemult by train (:D), and then to La Pine by Shuttle Bus. I still haven’t figured out how I’m going to get to the campground itself from there. A taxi would be expensive, and walking would be tiring/dangerous.

I still do not have all the details planned, but would it be possible to call/meetup and carpool with someone once I get to La Pine? As I may have mentioned, I’m still practicing for my drivers license, and I just prefer public transport anyway.

If you just need a ride from LaPine I’m sure a lot of us who will have our cars could go grab you. :slight_smile: I assume you’re arriving Thursday? I’m on breakfast duty so I couldn’t do it before noonish.